WE LIKE IT FIRST – Meghan Farrell, Jewelry Designer

MeghanPress_701

In our new series WE LIKE IT FIRST, we seek out new and exciting designers, artists and anything else fabulous we’ve discovered in New York.  We’re excited to share our first interview in the series with amazing New York jewelry designer Meghan Farrell (above).
underwater01

WWL: Tell us about MF Jewelry and what inspired your latest collection?

MF: MF is a collection of jewelry that fuses the medical sciences with love stories. The collection features everything from delicate EKG Heartbeats with heart-shaped stones to more sculptural, bulky pieces that resemble kisses or the brain.  Every piece I create has a little story behind it. I guess it was kind of inevitable that I would design pieces inspired by medicine–my dad is a surgeon and my mom is a nurse! As for the love references, I was trained in theatre at Sarah Lawrence, and have always been a lover of love stories in literature and throughout history.  I’m fascinated by the romantic heroine, my favorites being Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice, Viola from Twelfth Night, and Juliet Capulet from Romeo and Juliet. The latest FW14 collection is inspired by the mouth– particularly a kiss. It features rings that take on the quality of braces, individual outlines of lips fused together at the corners to look like a chain (“locked lips”), sculptural hearts that look like they are shooting stars, and geometric shark profiles with open mouths. It’s one of my favorite collections to date!

romance

WWL: You seem to have a passion for music. Do you listen to it when you design?

MF:  I do! I used to be a DJ at a few places in the East Village, spinning a mixture of everything, but I mainly liked to spin 50′s/60′s garage rock and R&B. I would throw in newer bands like Beck and The Black Keys, so it was a pretty fun mix.

WWL: What’s your go-to playlist this winter?

MF: Music is nearly always on when I am designing. I also love discovering and listening to new music. A year ago, I made a compilation which complimented the collection- a super fun project. I listened to this playlist on repeat over and over and over again this winter:

The Wire – Haim
Don’t Save Me – Haim
Love Club – Lorde
Bravado – Lorde
Team – Lorde
Buzzcut Season – Lorde
Run The World – Beyonce
Seasons (Waiting On You) – Future Islands
We Prefer It In The Dark – Bat and Ball
Pretty Boy – Young Galaxy
Don’t Come around Here No More – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Secret Garden – Bruce Springsteen
Fistful of Love – Antony and the Johnsons
underwater02

WWL: What’s your favorite NYC neighborhood to hang out in on the weekends? Any favorite spots?

MF: During my first eight years in NYC, I lived in TriBeca, which I absolutely loved.  However I recently moved to the East Village, as I tended to spend the majority of my time there with friends. As for my favorite spots, I love Lavagna for Italian food, Motorino for pizza, BLK MKT for burgers and cocktails, Dream Baby for cocktails.  The Smith is becoming a neighborhood go-to as well.  As for TriBeca, I do venture back down there every now and then. I love the West Side Highway, walking down Staple Street with that magical overpass, and Max’s pizzas and meatballs. TriBeca will always hold a huge spot in my heart.
MeghanPress_103

WWL: Do you collect anything?

MF: Yes! I have a huge love for shoes (Prada and Miu Miu being my absolute favorite), and get one pair a season! I have quite a collection. I also have started to collect vinyl , and my collection is slowly growing.

meghan_farrell-648512398285196234_18673697

WWL: If you could only wear 3 pieces of jewelry, what would they be?

MF: My mom’s Italian 14K Yellow gold basket-weave filigree ring with an amethyst, my EKG Skip Beat Ring in 14K yellow gold set with a garnet, and my Fused Flat Line Necklace in 14K Yellow Gold. I don’t count my little gold cross that my dad gave me when I was seven; I never take it off!

eyeloveyouring2

What are your styling tips for wearing jewelry?

Stick with one bold piece, or lots of delicate pieces.  I think it’s super cool to wear just a statement necklace or ring- I have a Delfina Delettrez Eye Ring that is perfect on its own with a little white dress. I love it when an outfit is centered around a bold accessory. But I am known for wearing lots of my smaller gold rings on multiple fingers, a cute pair of earrings, and one of my gold necklaces. That’s more my style!

Meghan Farrell Jewelry Available in New York at:
Opening Ceremony. 35 Howard Street, Soho, New York, 10013 and Opening Ceremony at The Ace Hotel. 1190-1192 Broadway at 29th Street. New York, 10001

ilovering

Photo Credits: Underwater Series and Meghan Farrell images by Abby Wright

Comments

  1. Fabulous post!

  2. beautiful!

  3. I LOOOVE Meghan’s jewelry! It’s so special and meaningful, and I literally want every single piece. I love this series, too! Great job.

  4. trendy4days says:

    Love your blog! Great images!

  5. Amazing interview and photographs! Next time I’m in NYC I want to check out her pieces. xo

  6. kassidyfima says:

    Beautiful pieces! Need to get some of my own! xxx

Leave a Reply

