Alasdair’s April Johnson Shows Us The Gowanus

AP-April5April Johnson is the founder of super cool New York line Alasdair NY.  A former stylist, April’s Alasdair line captures that perfect balance of being the kind of wardrobe staples you can’t live without while being super fashion at the same time.  It’s fitting that April lives in one of New York’s coolest neighborhoods, the Gowanus, a part of Brooklyn that has fast become the stomping ground for many of New York’s most design savvy creative types.

We love the photo above of April strolling along Caroll Street on the Gowanus. It perfectly sums up how effortlessly cool Alasdair is and the neighborhood all in one shot.

………………………………………

April Johnson’s Guide To The Gowanus

 

AP-April1

Cafe Martin
My neighbor asked me if I had ever gone to Cafe Martin to get a coffee and I had not so I made my way there finally and now I’m a regular.  Martin doesn’t say much but he makes the best cappuccino in Brooklyn.  It’s a quiet little spot always full of characters.

Cafe Martin. 355 5th Avenue. Brooklyn, NY. 11215. Tel:

AP-April2Bird
What can I say about BIRD?  Well I have always loved this store for it’s eclectic mix of my favorite designers.  We have been selling Alasdair there since the first season.  Jen is special.  You can really feel the hand picked pieces are so carefully gathered to tell the story of the season.
Bird. 316 5th Avenue (between 2nd & 3rd Streets). Brooklyn. NY. Tel: 718 768 4940
AP-April4Nightingale 9
I am a huge fan of Vietnamese and when Kerry Diamond and her boyfriend Rob opened this spot I couldn’t have been more delighted.  The pho is some of the best I’ve ever eaten.  The salads are the perfect lunch.  It’s making me hungry just writing about it.  Let’s go now!
Nightingale 9. 345 Smith Street. Brooklyn, New York. 11231. Tel: 347 689 4699
AP-April31

Photo credit – Annelise Phillips

Comments

  1. For some reason, Gowanus intimidates me so I haven’t really explored the neighborhood. Excited to venture down!

Leave a Reply

